top of page

It’s About That Time | Scheduling Dates w/Jord Watches

Do you ever recall seeing the statement “you know you’re a ______ when”? Well I have one for you and I think I will hear a few amens through my computer after this. You know you’re a parent when, you have to schedule dates. Yes, schedule. When I first got married a big part of our relationship was spontaneity. We would go out whenever we felt like it, without planning, and sometimes without enough money ( lol !)

It made our relationship - ours ! We loved being get up and go people and having adventures together.

Once Landon came into the picture this idea of spontaneity became a little less practical. While he was still trying to figure out our faces and respond to our voices it was fine- but now that Landon is almost a year old - active, babbling and very aware of our presence, it’s no surprise that things have changed, circumstances are different and it’s about that time.

 

It’s about that time when we have to admit, we need some more structure in our relationship. If we don’t want to get lost in the mundane and be able to look at each other without getting a toy thrown in our direction, we have to simply plan it.

Not only do we have to plan time to be alone, we also have to ensure that we plan time when we can spend on each other. As a married couple (child-free) we would spend more carelessly, not often but enough to recognize, maybe we have to adjust here. Now that we have a child and plans to continue to grow our family we have to be wise with our spending. But despite that, it’s still very important to do something special for one another every now and then. That’s why when I came across Jord watches I knew that it would be a special gift for my husband. Jord provides a unique spin on a classic accessory - and if you are at that “scheduled dates” stage of life, not a minute is to be wasted !

Jord watches have a unique natural wood design that helps it to stand out. They come in a variety of shades and styles for both men and women. My husbands is from the Frankie collection, it's a dark sandalwood and I love that it goes with any outfit.

When my husband first presented me with the news of our scheduled date I was pretty excited. We hadn’t had that one on one time in a while and without realizing it, I had been showing signs of needing it for weeks. We get so busy with friends, church, work that we easily had become roommates. I hated it, the idea of just sharing a space together. I remember hearing married couples talk about “date nights” when I was single and I thought that was so whack! I thought to myself, when I get married I won’t have to worry about that- my husband and I will always go out, we will always “fill in the blank” became we will always let Landon sleep in the middle- because that seemed to be the only thing I could ensure we would have each day.

The fact is, we all need to be time conscious because though we have no control over how quickly or fast it goes, we don’t want to regret wasting it. I know that our days of going wherever the wind blows are behind us, but I’m looking forward to making the best of our time. Here are some tips to make sure you don’t let time get away from you and your relationships..

 

Tip #1: Schedule it

It seems very cheesy at first, but take it from someone who also thought they would never need to do it, it’s better to have some form of structure to re-connect.

Tip #2: Talk about it

I was afraid to share that I wanted to spend time with my husband, I didn’t want him to think I was ungrateful for the hours he spent at work while I was at home. And I wanted him to know that I respect that he needs his alone time when he isn’t working and just wants to chill on the couch and watch a basketball game. But it is so much better to express yourself so you can work towards solving that issue or filling a void- in my case, time spent ( can someone say love language! lol)

Tip #3: Get creative

You may not always have an opporutnity to go out for dinner, but if you are looking to spend time with someone, rather than wait for the perfect night to go out, create the perfect night right in your own home!

(picnic, indoor camping, whatever you can come up with- or search via pinterest!)

Tip #4: Be flexible

If you have children, you know that things happen that are out of our control, colds, fevers, accidents, you name it. So if you did schedule something and it needs to be rescheduled that’s okay, at least you are making steps to ensuring that you do have time together.

Would you like a beautiful Jord Watch of your own? Just enter here for your chance to win ! Comment below after you have entered and share how you make time spent with a friend/loved one !

bottom of page