top of page

Bloom

This week my mother came over for a visit. Her visits usually include cleaning my house, cooking dinner and giving me at least an hour of “baby-free time”. I love it when she comes over because even if I don’t receive any of those things, it’s just nice to have her around. 

Upon her arrival she had some bags in her hands and I was excited to see what she had bought (9/10 Times Landon gets a little gift !) this time she didn’t just have something for Landon, she also had some flowers for me- tulips.

 I had been hinting to my husband that some fresh flowers would just brighten up the house (I really meant it would brighten up my day lol). Now though I loved the gift it really opened my eyes to how lucky I am to experience a mothers love. Now that I am a mother myself I see how this role  is really a lifelong commitment and no matter how old our children grow and what new roles they obtain, we never stop being a mother. 

So here I am with my new tulips, got them in some water and they are looking nice, actually not really. They immediately fell over in the case and looked extremely limp. I immediately googled drooping tulips to find that I should have cut them before adding them to the water. I cut them and placed them back into the vase and within 30 minutes they lifted- and were beautiful. 

I couldn’t help but think about how motherhood requires us to loose some of who we once were to become who we need to be, to bloom, to rise, to lift our heads and cut away anything that holds us back. Selfishness holds us back from being the best mothers we can be, and wanting to keep that extra inch of stem was only keeping it down.

Don’t let anything stop you from fully blooming mama. 


bottom of page