top of page

The Little Things

I’m currently laying in darkness at 1:58am, I hear what I will call “satisfied sleep” sounds from my husband laying next to me,and a quiet humming from my sons sound machine close by. I should be tired but the feeling I once had has come and gone. Plus, at night is the only time I really have to myself these days, and I like to think.

So as I lay awake reflecting on my day and recalling the many moments that made up the last 24 hours I can’t help but consider how much life has changed since becoming a mother. I can no longer sleep, shower, eat, shop or anything else for that matter- when I want to. Much of my day revolves around the tiny human in my house. I’m loving every moment but sometimes it can be a little draining, and a lot lonely.

Landon is 8 Months now ( can’t believe how much time has flown by), and though he is still very much a baby, there are so many things that he can do that just blow my mind- he’s the first born so naturally I am guilty of thinking he is extremely advanced, brilliant, talented, etc... but the truth is, he does not have to do much for me to boast about him, nor does he have to do much to put a smile on my face. The older I get and the more I fit into my new role as a mama I realize that little things really make such an impact on my day. Not only does it make impact but it shows me how important it is to take time in each day and savour the moments I share with him.

 

Peek-a-boo

Recently Landon started taking the driver seat in the game peek-a-boo, it’s so cute. He will take a blanket, pull it over his face and will often be heard making sounds or giggling - he will then pull the covers down and look for me or his dad. We will say peek-a-boo to him and he will quickly pull the covers back over his eyes. The first time he did it I was like - woah, how did he know to do that ?! It’s crazy how they really are little sponges observing and learning so quickly.

Mr.Hugs

Landon gives great hugs and though he is still to young to know what he is doing, he will wrap his little arms around my neck and rest his head on my shoulders, it’s the cutest thing, and helps me to just take a step back and enjoy the moment even if he just walked into a decorative basket of logs and allowed it to fall on him, and cut his face - what’s a little blood right?

Shh

When my nephew was born I would watch him all the time, and I loved it, I would still watch him in a heart beat, now he’s not as little but he’s still great to be around. When he was about 2 I would always put on Treehouse a television network here in Canada that would always have a show perfect for children. One show in particular that I loved was The Backyardigans I’m not sure if it was because they had songs or diverse character names but I really liked it, and still do. I always play their music in the house for Landon and they have one song about secret agents that Landon loves. They say “sh, sh, secret agent..sh, sh, on a mission” and he laughs and smiles when he hears the word “sh”. It’s cute for the song but annoying when we are in church and he decides to start babbling (he’s gonna have to go to Nursery soon lol)

What’s over there?

When he can’t see something properly he will turn his head to the side (if it’s behind me) and when he does it makes me laugh because it seems so ..grown. As if he is saying “excuse me, what’s over there?” It just gets me every time. He’s becoming more and more aware of his surroundings and though it’s expected as he grows older it still catches me by surprise just how much he is taking notice of.

There are so many other things he does and I’m glad he has his own little quirks !

What are some of the little things that put a smile on your face?


bottom of page